Old Dogs, New Tricks

A blog for non-traditional students

Preparing a Non-traditional Resume

Alright, the end of the quarter is coming and that means I’m down to a measly three months to put together a kick-ass resume and find a job.  Of course I’m in a total state of panic.  So I’ve been surfing around looking for tips on resume building – I found this video and I’ll be adding to this post as I find more useful tidbits.  I already applied this tip to my own resume – it certainly helped shorten the resume.

*** Danielle

March 11, 2009 - Posted by | Generation Gap, Job Search, Maturity

3 Comments »

  1. That is all very well, but what if a candidate has taken time out to look after a family,say for 10yrs and after a college course is returning to the workplace? (I am aware that 8yrs is only an example)

    Comment by Student Mum | May 1, 2009

  2. Actually, I had an 11-year absence from school, during which I got married and had a family. Even if you didn’t complete a college degree, I think the tip is useful. But something else to keep in mind is that if that formula still leaves you with a short previous experience section, you might want to consider using a different resume format. At the end of the clip, she offers her website where she has more resume info available, or you could check at monster.com or careerbuilder.com to find articles on different layouts for resumes. Good luck to you!!

    Comment by daniellefrink | May 1, 2009

  3. I would have to write a different resume too. If I were hiring, I would go for older people, because they would have more knowledge and would be able to learn the job easier. But that is not what most people assume about older people. It is hard to overcome this, but I think not impossible.

    The easiest job to fill as an older student or job seeker? Your OWN job, one you make yourself as an entrepreneur or online businessperson. Just saying. But I do like this video; I think it is useful for people who want an interview. Then it’s up to the hiring manager, who hopefully will be fair.

    Comment by E. Sheppard | October 16, 2010


Leave a Reply

