Old Dogs, New Tricks

A blog for non-traditional students

Isn’t It Ironic?

Given what I’m working on right now – this commuting thing – today’s weather may provide plenty of fodder for my classmates to contribute.  I have to laugh at the ridiculousness of UC cancelling classes until 10:00 a.m.  It’s a little after 9:30 right now, and I just took these pictures of my driveway to give you a feel for the absurdity of the idea that I’ll be in class today.buried-drivewayburied-car

 

The best part is that it’s still snowing heavily enough to make shoveling a complete waste of time; by the time I got to the top of the driveway, the bottom would be re-covered already.  And of course there’s the predicted wintry mix that will make driving all the more exciting later today.  So, I apologize to my classmates and professors, but I’ll be staying home today – and maybe tomorrow if this precipitation doesn’t let up so I can dig my way out. 

Anyone else want to share photos of their snow-covered adventures in driving?  Email them to me and I’ll toss some up here – I’ve got the time today 🙂

*** Danielle

Just a little postscript:  Does it seem odd to anyone else that the city of Cincinnati declared a snow emergency and UC still opened at 10:00 am?  Or how about the fact that Xavier, Mt. St. Jo and NKU all closed today, but not our beloved institution?  As I’ve been fervently keeping abreast of the weather from the safety of my basement bedroom, I have stumbled across articles speculating that Nancy Zimpher might possibly be leaving us for the State University of New York’s vacant chancellor seat – I’m pretty tempted to say, “Hallelujah!” and call it an answer to prayer. 🙂

January 27, 2009 - Posted by | Snow Days, Student Life, University Policies

3 Comments »

  1. I agree with you 100 percent! I figured you would be writing about the rediculous weather today.

    I think it’s a little absurd as well how little consideration the university has for its commuters. Last quarter I wrecked my car into a tree one icy afternoon and let’s just say my mental state whilst driving in snow/ice has never been the same.

    Apparently my education trumps my safety. Maybe this is all just a secret course Zimpher is making us unknowingly take called “Winter Storm Driving 101.” I think I’m failing.

    -Ashley from class 🙂

    Comment by Ashley Monk | January 27, 2009

  2. Oh my goodness I meant to type ridiculous I swear! Haha.

    Comment by Ashley Monk | January 27, 2009

  3. We’ll call that an icy patch of keyboard and call it even, Ashley 🙂

    I was thinking along the same lines, only in my case I thought it was a course for “Driving Miss Daisy” – or in even less politically-correct language, “Grandma Driving 101”

    *** Danielle

    Comment by daniellefrink | January 27, 2009


Leave a Reply

